Explore Edinburgh

 

Click on the place names above

Attractions
- Ancient Sites
- Childrens Edinburgh
- City Tours
- Entertainment
- Galleries
- Museums
- Visitor Attractions

Historic Trails

Maps

Shops and Services

Sport and Leisure

Eating Out

Walks

Wildlife

Transport

Whats on?

>
Edinburgh Street scene
>
View from Princess Street Gardens
>
House in the Royal Mile

Ancient Sites

St Giles Cathedral in Edinburgh's Royal MileSt Giles Cathedral
St Giles is the principal Kirk of the Church of Scotland. Its architecture dates from the 12th century most noticeably resplendent crown spire formed by eight flying buttresses.
The Cathedrals interior has beautiful 19th and 20th century stained glass, memorials and a fine Reiger organ. Open Monday-Saturday 9am-5pm, 7pm in summer, Sundays 1-5pm.Admission free.

Mary King’s Close
Definitely an attraction to send shivers down the spine this really is a fascinating experience. On the lower levels of the original Old Town, underneath the City Chambers lies Edinburgh’s forgotten past a warren of streets hidden beneath the Royal Mile. These streets where sealed off in 1645 after an outbreak of the Plague and then in 1753 used as the foundations for the new City Chambers. Mary King’s Close is a truly dramatic place and believed to be haunted by plague victims. Visitors must join an official guided tour.

These tours last one hour and commence every 20minutes.Opening times are April- October 10am-9pm Sun-sat. November – March 10am-4pm Sun- Fri, 10-9pm Sat. Evening tours are particularly popular so booking in advance is advisable by calling 08702 430160.as the conditions in these underground closes are cramped, dusty and uneven children under 5 are not permitted and under 16`s must be accompanied by an adult. The Real Mary King’s Close is open everyday except Christmas day.
www.realmarykingsclose.com

John Knox House
In Edinburgh’s oldest Royal Mile house visitors can learn of the life and times of the controversial religious reformer John Knox. This house was also home to James Mossman goldsmith to Mary Queen of Scots. Open all year: Monday-Saturday10am-6pm, noon-6pm Sundays. Admission rates are £2.25 adult, £75p children, £1,75 OAP and students. Tel: 0131 556 9579.

No.28 Charlotte Square
This Georgian town house is part of Edinburgh’s World Heritage Site and is the head office for The National Trust for Scotland.No.28 includes a gallery with a splendid collection of 20th-century Scottish paintings, regency furniture and objects d`art. Special exhibitions are held here during the Edinburgh Festival. Shop, coffee house and restaurant. Admission is free, bookings for the restaurant can be made by calling 0131 243 9510. Open 6th January to 24th December 11-3pm.

The Georgian House
On the north side of Charlotte Square this property is also run by The National Trust for Scotland. Built in 1796 this Georgian House was designed by Robert Adam. The house has exquisite collections of china, silver, paintings and furniture reflecting the domestic and social lives of its original well-to-do inhabitants. Visitors can get a real feel for life above and below stairs in the 18th Century.Adjacent to the museum shop is an audio-visual room which describes the lives of the wealthy inhabitants of Edinburgh’s New Town. Open March-October:Mon-Sat 10am-5pm Sun 2-5pm Nov and Dec: Mon-Sat 11am-4pm Sun 2-4pm